Report

Introduction

The Chief Minister has appointed a Chair and Members to the Legislation Advisory Panel.

Background

The Legislation Advisory Panel was established in 2006 following the move to ministerial government and advises on a number of matters dealt with by the former Legislation Committee.

The Panel, whose membership is drawn from both executive and nonexecutive members, advises the Chief Minister on a range of legislative matters. These mainly relate to courts, court procedures, and the wider administration of justice; additionally, it reviews reports received from the Jersey Law Commission, established in 1996, on aspects of Jersey law which the Commission considers should be examined with a view to reform.

Membership

The Chief Minister wishes to appoint the Connétable of St. Mary, David Johnson, as Chair of the Legislation Advisory Panel.

The Connetable (then Deputy of St. Mary) chaired the Panel under the previous government and will maintain continuity over the workstreams. Given the work under the last government was also interrupted by the pandemic, and generally the Legislation Advisory Panel did not have the opportunity to deliver a substantial programme, his reappointment provides opportunity for him to apply his knowledge and expertise over the next 4 years in this important area.

The Chief Minister, upon the advice of the designated Chair, also agreed to appoint the following States members to the Legislation Advisory Panel to deliver a balanced and informed Panel:

- Deputy of St Clement, Sir Philip Bailhache
- Connétable of St Lawrence, Deidre Mezbourian
- Deputy of St Saviour, Malcolm Ferey
- Deputy of Grouville and St Martin, Rose Binet
- Deputy of St Helier Central, Catherine Curtis

The Chief Minister, upon the advice of the chair and with the agreement of the Legislation Advisory Panel members, also supported the appointment of the Deputy of St Clement, Sir Philip Bailhache, as the Vice-Chair of the Panel.